Skip to content Skip to navigation

2021 AERA Annual Meeting

Date: 
April 08, 2021 to April 12, 2021
Location: 
Virtual

Join DREME Network Members and Affiliates at the AERA Virtual Annual Meeting on April 8-12, 2021.

Thursday, April 8

2:00 to 3:00pm EDT (11:00am to 12:00pm PDT)

Comparing Teachers' and Parents' Perception of Children's Development Using the Ages and Stages Questionnaire–3

Authors: Colleen Uscianowski, Gloria Julius, Maria Shaheen, Garth Harries, Julia Levy, Herbert P. Ginsburg

Friday, April 9

4:10 to 5:40pm EDT (1:10 to 2:40pm PDT)

Investigating Legitimate Peripheral Participation in Instructional Laboratories to Enhance Teaching Practice

Chairs: Deborah Loewenberg Ball, Darrius D. Robinson

Discussant: Megan L. Franke

Saturday, April 10

10:40am to 12:10pm EDT (7:40 to 9:10am PDT)

Development of a Measure of Early Mathematics Achievement Based on Learning Trajectories

Authors: Julie Sarama, Douglas H. Clements, Crystal A. Day-Hess, Christopher Wolfe, Shannon Stark Guss

Broadening the Terrain: Examining Novel Motivational Processes in STEM Contexts

Chairs: David B. Miele, Allan L. Wigfield, Bridgid Finn

Discussant: Deborah Stipek

2:30 to 4:00pm EDT (11:30am to 1:00pm PDT)

Organizational Effects Examining Academic Achievement and Student Support

Chair: Susan Kemper Patrick

Paper Session: Instructional Coaching and Educational Infrastructure for Elementary Mathematics

Author: Abigail Stein

Sunday, April 11

10:40am to 12:10pm EDT (7:40 to 9:10am PDT)

The Impact of Integrated Student Support in Elementary School: A Replication Study

Authors: Noman Khanani, Anastasia Raczek, Eric Dearing, Mary Elizabeth Walsh

Research at the Junctures: Investigating How Routines Shape Research Use in District Leader Decision Making

Authors: Angel Bohannon, Cynthia E. Coburn, James P. Spillane, Riley Ceperich, Annie Allen

2:30 to 4:00pm EDT (11:30am to 1:00pm PDT)

Learning Trajectories as the Core of Teacher Professional Development

Authors: Julie Sarama, Douglas H. Clements

Marginalized Students' Opportunities to Learn in Integrated Mathematics Courses

Authors: Bethany Rittle-Johnson, Kelley Durkin, Dale C. Farran

Monday, April 12

11:10am to 12:40pm EDT (8:10 to 9:40am PDT)

Exploring Relations Between Classroom-Level Strategic Diversity and Achievement in Early Mathematics

Authors: Douglas H. Clements, Denis Dumas, Yixiao Dong, Holland Banse, Julie Sarama, Crystal A. Day-Hess

2:50 to 4:20pm EDT (11:50am to 1:20pm PDT)

The Relationship Between Preschoolers' Mathematical Ability and Mathematical Language During Joint Block Play

Authors: Colleen Uscianowski, Maria Fernanda Ahumada, Leslie Manlapig, Herbert P. Ginsburg

4:30 to 6:00pm EDT (1:30 to 3:00pm PDT)

You Need to Be Super Smart to Do Well in Math! Elementary School Children Show Math-Specific Brilliance Beliefs

Authors: Jalisha Jenifer, Jiliana Jaxon, Susan C. Levine, Andrei Cimpian